PDA

View Full Version : 99 cobra

gnats4281969
08-05-2005, 12:13 PM
I am new to the world of cobra's but there is a 99 vert for sale locally unmolested with 52000 kms I am aware that in 99 there were issues in regards to the power outage and Ford recalled the cobra for some upgrades...what were these upgrades, and how do I find out if this particular cobra followed through on the upgrades..any other advice would be appreciated...thanks Joe

smashedheadcat
08-05-2005, 09:06 PM
To find out if your car was in for this recall, I'm sure the local ford dealer could give you that info. Or, have your VIN# handy and call up 1-800-FORDSVT and they'll tell you. The work done includes:
1. Extrude honed intake
2. Different exhaust
3. Reflash of stock computer

svtmc-g
08-08-2005, 03:28 PM
I was told that some also got different heads. I called the svt number. They were VERY helpful. I gave them my VIN and they found out that my car had the recall done. The person on the phone informed that it wasn't technically a "recall". It was more of an out-of-pocket expense, therefore some cobra's were not updated. Mine had a new computer, exhaust, heads, and intake. The guy that owned it was a wealthy fella so he paid to have it all done. he wanted the full 320 horses, I guess.
Matt

tcrews
08-10-2005, 10:01 PM
Nope, it was a recall, free of charge to the owner.

New intake (extrude honed), new catback (better flowing) and a reflashed computer. That's it, nothing else.

svtmc-g
08-10-2005, 11:31 PM