PDA

View Full Version : New Borla system

jjraiser
08-22-2005, 09:12 PM
I just installed a Borla cat-back system last weekend. I have to say, it is worth twice the money! The car sounds so great and you can really feel the power. It rushes to redline noticeably quicker. But, regardless of the power, and it is there, it sound awesome.

I can't compare it to other systems, so I'm no expert on what's better or not, but the Borla system is great.

Just a side note, I had the car on a lift for about 5 hours doing the exaust, cleaning, lunch, etc., and found that the differential was still warm at the end of the day. It never cooled off! :firebounc I don't know if I have issues or that's just the nature of these IRS rears. The exaust sits right below the diff and radiates heat, as well as no real air to cool the thing. I gotta believe this would be the weak link in any long road race/track event.

InfamousSVT
08-23-2005, 12:08 AM
I've heard of a bunch of people that love the Borla cat-backs.

I'm glad that you like the new cat-back and new sound. As for the differential..........If you were to do long track events or road racing I'd suggest looking into a differential cooler.

beerkat
08-23-2005, 10:17 AM
I love my Borla also. I only spent two hours on the trade out, but I did not clean the underside either. I had an issue where the exhaust pipe hit the plastic sheet arouond the gas tank and melted it a little but other than that I have not had any other problems with them.:thumbsup:

A friend of mine who also has them said that he has put heat wrap aound the pipes in order to reduce the amount of heat in certain areas.:cool:

Linn@Amazon
08-23-2005, 07:03 PM