PDA

View Full Version : Turbo or supercharger??

v8musclecobra
10-10-2005, 06:29 PM
Hey guys whats up. Im pretty new to engines and all and was wondering what would be a better setup. Hp twin turbo, another turbo setup, kenne bell supercharger, or another supercharger/centrifugal supercharger setup. Id like to keep the car a street car but eventually run 9's if possible. Don't want to take a/c out or anything. Which would gvie me all around better performance and/or faster quarter mile time? THANKS IN ADVANCE FOR ANY HELP.

InfamousSVT
10-10-2005, 08:45 PM
If you want to run 9's go twin turbo and an automatic

If you don't want to spend all the money on that, go with a KB/whipple and put a shot of juice on it or just spin the hell out of the supercharger to like 24psi and let her rip

Dave B.
10-10-2005, 10:42 PM
Prepare to continualy break out the wallet,,,,,,,often!!

crunchit
10-11-2005, 12:03 AM
I'd go with the blower to start. Then after porting and modding (and modding and modding...) chang your suspension to carve corners. Once youve gotten over that you will certainly find someone on one of these boards to purchase all your stuff, then go with the turbo.

That should take you about two years...

v8musclecobra
10-11-2005, 11:46 AM
could i still run 9's on the stock 6 speed tranny, cause id hate to drop an auto in there. I still want it to be more of a fun street car then a full out drag car.

smashedheadcat
10-11-2005, 02:44 PM
Dynospeed has a HP twin turbo cobra with a 6-speed (upgraded internals in the trans) running 9's on the stock block. It's a mean setup that's for sure. I will be going for 9's as well. I've got an HP twin turbo kit (baby 50mm turbos) with a solid axle, 26spline input shaft and centerforce DFX clutch. And tons of other stuff. It may not go 9's but it's going to haul the mail anyway!

InfamousSVT
10-11-2005, 08:37 PM