PDA

View Full Version : F'ing Great! Trip to the dyno-->not good news


kcast
02-08-2006, 05:34 PM
Well, glad I went to the dyno
Mods are in the sig, it was tuned before last did 507/497, since then the previous owner added a catted x-pipe and I added a 100 mm aux idler to help with the belt slip. the dyno jet said my airfuel was 16.8!AHHHH. In the low RPM's it starts at about 15.2 then drops to 13.0 then up to about 16 where it ends up at about 16.8 and the line looks like it was sketched by a three year old!!! I was just wanting to share this info with you all b/c apparently a catted x and an aux idler does make a big difference!!! Oh and it only put down 467/397! Its not the dyno either b/c my buddies whipple cobra put down 530/515 with his street tune (he said it should be close).... I am thinking the damn fuel (http://www.modularfords.com/forums/#) pump went out!!! I hope not! What do you think??

Pro-Dyno
02-09-2006, 06:53 AM
Very posible the only way to tell for sure is log fuel presure drop at the rail and see if it dropes below 35psi when you get in it ;)

NC03BlkSnake
02-09-2006, 08:51 AM
MAF? I wouldn't think the fuel pump would cause that, if it goes, it's gone.

Pro-Dyno
02-09-2006, 08:06 PM
Possibly if it is really oily but it has bean my experience that if one pump goes out this condition will happen

:)

kcast
02-09-2006, 11:46 PM
Possibly if it is really oily but it has bean my experience that if one pump goes out this condition will happen

:)
I think that I'm gonna get an xcal 2 and a WBC and do some datalogging to see whats going on, then get it retuned....

Skitzerman
02-12-2006, 12:22 PM
Check your batteries voltage as you work up the RPM's. If it is dropping down into the 12 volt range, your alternator may have s**t the bed or the battery is going south. You may see a corresponding drop in voltage with those bad a/f readings. Underdrive pulleys don't help the situation. If you add a bigger lower pulley, make sure your alternator under drive brings you back as close to spec as possible.

Linn@Amazon
02-14-2006, 03:22 PM
I think that I'm gonna get an xcal 2 and a WBC and do some datalogging to see whats going on, then get it retuned....
that is a good plan of action...data will tell the story...

kcast
03-04-2006, 02:07 PM
Well guys, as you remember from the post above, I got my DJWBC and started on the install. I removed the ecu from the kick panel and heard something jumbling around in it!!! Well guess what?! IT WAS MY CHIP! No damage caused, just plugged it back in and made sure there was enough tape on it this time. I havent finished the install yet, need to get the bung welded and then it'll be time to see what the AFR is! I really hope this was my problem, running the ported eaton w/ a 2.80 pulley on the stock tune, that would sure enough give a lean condition. I'll keep you updated!

Linn@Amazon
03-04-2006, 02:56 PM
yes it surely would :eek:

Texaslawdawg
03-06-2006, 01:42 PM
yikes! 16.8 is a timebomb...

kcast
03-07-2006, 02:47 AM
got the wideband installed today and it WAS the chip, everything is ok, AFR 11.2-11.8ish ready to go back to the dyno!