PDA

View Full Version : Brake Pedal and Trunk Light: "The Haunting Part I"

ProfChaos
03-18-2006, 08:31 PM
I have a '96 Cobra that now has a haunted trunk light. :)

What I mean by that is that when I apply the brake pedal, the trunk light comes on. The charge-indicating ammeter also jumps around a bit when the car sits at idle. (I noticed this after dark, so the headlights were also on at the time.) The meter does not show severe movement, but the occasional, slight-and-jerky needle movement toward the left (-) seems a little erratic to me.

Any ideas on what might be causing this ground loop that makes the trunk light come on when I apply the brake pedal?

Thanks for your help.

--Professor Chaos

Levi
03-20-2006, 09:25 AM
I am not a mechanic, so this is just a guess. Check the grounds to the battery to chassis and/or due to this the alternator may not be charging the battery and the drain from the accessory is pulling more then the system can handle.
If the third brake light is in the trunk lid (center brake light), then it may just be glowing in the truck when you apply the brakes.

dewone
03-20-2006, 12:30 PM
Levi is on to something there with the light, the ammeter is showing that the system is charging. But not at idle so it is showing the load as it is at that time once your above 1000 rpms it should begin charging again and jump or move towards +. It should always be above 13 volts while running if not go to auto zone and have them hook up there diagnostics tools. Could be the altenator, voltage regulator, battery or a loose ground as Levi stated.

SNAKEYE
03-22-2006, 09:23 PM
Sounds like either a bad high brake light or regular brake light ground feeding through one or the other. Trace wire harnesses from high brake light and regular brake lights over around into the left rear quarter panel area of the trunk where you will find a couple of multiple-wire connectors. Unplug them and then plug them back together to clean up connections.
Give it a go!