PDA

View Full Version : 2004 SVT Cobra 6 speed Transmission issue

cobradd
06-10-2006, 08:05 PM
I have a 2004 Cobra SVT with a 6 speed manual trans. The vehicle has aprox. 7500 miles on it at this time. The issue is that the shifter jumps out of 3rd gear. When running thru the gears even in a normal situation it pops out of 3rd, it does not do this in any other gear. I'm new to this type of transmission and am not the original owner. I'm trying to figure out if this is just a shifter issue or something deeper. If it is something more expensive does anyone know my options if I would put a TCI or Rosslers automatic trany in this car to run at the track?

cobrabitn
06-10-2006, 10:53 PM
You should still be under warranty so take it back to the dealership. If not, the 6 speed in these cars are pretty stout so I'd probably just go back with a new one. :thumbsup:

ausie
06-11-2006, 01:09 PM
It is possible that there may be some binding occuring in the shift boot or could be the shifter itself (shift stop may be out of spec). Any pressure applied to the shifter especially when accelerating could cause it to slip out of gear. Do you know if the shifter is the stock unit or aftermarket? If it is an aftermarket part, it may just be the shift stops were not adjusted properly. Not sure if there are rubber pads on the shifters (since I have yet to take one apart) but if there are, it may be possible that a rubber pad has become jammed into an area it should not be.

mrpork
06-17-2006, 10:09 PM
mine also did that but it stopped after about 10000 miles

mystic04
06-19-2006, 05:28 PM