PDA

View Full Version : recalls for the 1999 cobra.

rickstoy
11-08-2006, 10:35 PM
I have read all of the recall info on the 99 cobra. Called the 800SVT #. For what ever reason the power issue was not fixed on mine. I am the 3rd owner. The rear knuckles and the park brake problem was repaired according to SVT. I contacted the local Ford dealer about still having the work done for the power shortage. They said sorry warranty is up. but did give me the phone number to call Ford. I have not called them yet I will let you know what they say. The local dealerships say it will have to be done though Ford not the local ford dealers. Ok I can live with that. I do not have the stickers are the dot on the intake. I do how ever have mufflers not flow masters welded on the car, per a local muffler shop. If I was to have a a dyno tune what kind of horse power increase I'am I looking at? and approx. cost? Also since I am new to this where is Carolina speed way located ? I would like to come and and meet you folks. FYI I have not had the clutch are tranny repaired yet from a previous post. I did change the fluid in the tranny which seemed to help a little. I plan on probably doing both later, if it continues to get worse.

cobrabitn
11-08-2006, 11:49 PM
You can get a tune/reflash for your Cobra. I honestly doubt Ford will "fix" the car since it is 7 years old. Here's what I recommend for you:

1. Cold Air Kit - JLT
2. Underdrive Pullies - Steeda
3. Off road pipe/high flow cats with a catback - I like MAC
4. Reflash/Computer Tune - Any Reputable Dyno Tuner
5. Strut Tower Brace - to stop cowl shake
6. MGW Shifter - to reduce reverse gear grind
7. 4:10 gears - this is definitely a must!
8. Have Fun

Cost for all of this would be around $2500.00 and will put you in the 300 rwhp from 255 an unfixed car would have.

Carolina Dragway is in North Augusta, SC. Visit the BB often and check out the website. We welcome you to join the club and get all of the inside scoop on the SCMC!