PDA

View Full Version : Broken Speedometer..?

RSDEVIL
02-15-2007, 07:26 PM
My speedometer started acting funny, (jumpy needle) and now it's dead. The needle now doesn't move at all and it isn't clocking miles. All the other guages work.

Someone told me I should check the little gear on the speed sensor, that it's plastic and sometimes the teeth could get chewed up, but it's fine. I even replaced the speed sensor since it was only $29 from FORD, but that didn't do anything....?

I really wanna fix this thing b/c since the speedometer stopped working she stalls when I come to a stop / brake. I would think the two HAVE TO be related cause it started at EXACTLY the same time, but certianly I'm no mechanic.

Any help would GREATLY be appreciated. THANKS.

RSDEVIL
02-15-2007, 08:41 PM
Oooops It's a 98 Cobra

cobrabitn
02-15-2007, 09:06 PM
It sounds like your speedo cable has gone south. I would take the transmission side off and see if that is the problem.

RSDEVIL
02-16-2007, 04:55 PM
Speedo cable..? I was told it was electronic..?

cobrabitn
02-16-2007, 08:34 PM
1999 and up are electronic...

RSDEVIL
02-17-2007, 05:39 PM
There is no speedometer cable running to the transmission though...??? Just two wires that plug into the speedo sensor.

And the parts guy at FORD seems to think it's electronic also, I made him well aware it's a 98'...?

cobrabitn
02-18-2007, 12:57 AM
Now you got me thinking...I knew 99 and up was electronic and I was pretty sure it was the first year???? :doubt:

ggrab
02-18-2007, 11:20 AM
Tony,

I believe that you are correct. Whe I was doing research on the correct speedo gear for the 3.73 gears in my '94, I came across several different documents that said '99 was the first year for electronic speedos. I know that one of those documents was direct from Ford.

George

ausie
02-18-2007, 11:31 AM