PDA

View Full Version : 6 cd changer


cobrawannabe
06-17-2007, 05:09 PM
I know its dumb but I just tried my cd player and everytime I try to load a cd it says slots full. When I try to eject the cd (that it is telling me is in there) it says cd error. So, I'm looking for another radio and changer. I found one
but I don't know if it fits or is compatible, do you guys know?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/FORD-6-CD-CHANGER-RADIO-EXPLORER-MERCURY-MUSTANG-RDS_W0QQitemZ320127743833QQihZ011QQcategoryZ38641QQcmdZViewItem

BadMoFo
06-17-2007, 07:21 PM
I have never done it before but its my understanding ht atwhen you replace the head unit you have to replace the amp and a bunch of other junk since the 460 unit is not compatible with anything else. but just what I heard, hopefully someone has 1st hand experience.

03slidewayzSVT
06-17-2007, 09:24 PM
I guess you could always call Ford and ask them....They might know:doubt:

nckissfan
06-17-2007, 09:41 PM
that head unit on ebay is not a Mach 460 unit, so I don't think it would work. You can usually find the 460's used on ebay for pretty cheap.

For what it's worth, I sometimes get errors on my factory cd player in my 97. Sometimes it wont eject my cds, sometimes it wont take them in.

JROC
06-23-2007, 07:23 PM
Fords 6 disc Cd player is a pos from my understanding.

ausie
06-24-2007, 11:50 AM
If there are disks in the slots, they may have paper lables on them. I got a notice in the mail shortly after buying my Cobra not to use CD's with paper lables. You could try pulling the fuse for the radio/CD changer since it operates on the GEM system, if it has saved an error you can reset it by pulling the fuse(s) for the related radio systems and give it some time before putting the fuse(s) back in. That will force the CD player to reset and recheck the slots.