PDA

View Full Version : Chipping questions...

ArmchairDeity
07-12-2007, 06:22 PM
My SN-95 has a Hyper-Tech chip, underdrive pulleys, an MSD ignition and Blaster-3 coil, and a Flowmaster 3-chamber cat-back.

It's pulling 170HP on the Dynojet, and that seems really low... especially sinccne factory specs say 240. My question is this:

Does anyone know how the HT chip works? It's supposed to be "self-tuning"... I'm wondering if that's not part of why it's coming in so low on the dyno.

Maybe it's supposed to be that low when it's just straight-up dynoed... it sure doesn't seem to have any issues with take-offs (I can smoke'em but good if I'm not careful)... so I'm confused. I've been a mechanic off and on over the years, but never for performance vehicles and never involving a dyno, so I'm really not sure what it all means. :)

Thanks for helping out a n00b. :D

InfamousSVT
07-13-2007, 02:22 PM
How does the car feel compared to other stangs with close to the same mods?

Just cause the dynojet gaving you a reading that low doesn't mean that it is, a bunch of factors come into play while dynoing. If it is a reliable shop and they know what kind of info needs to be entered into the computer before dynoing then you should come out around the 250rwhp mark.

I've never dealt with the HyperTech chips so I'm not sure what to tell you about those, do you have a dyno graph with a/f etc..
What is the a/f ratio on the dyno and how does the graph look?

ArmchairDeity
07-13-2007, 04:59 PM
I have the graph from the last time I had it dynoed.

Under 3400 RPM it had issues, after 3400RPM it punched out a wad of HP and torque really fast.

Unfortunately I don't know jack about this aspect of things. Not something I'm used to since I'm in the tech world professionally. It's frustrating.

Anyway, we just moved and I dunno where the freakin' chart is... if I find it I'll scan it in and post it here.

cobrabitn
07-13-2007, 09:34 PM