PDA

View Full Version : I'm Freaking Out!!

Cross
09-09-2007, 12:01 AM
Okay, guys, I have a confession. I'm a newbie stick driver. There, I said it. I've only driven stick for a couple of months and I primarily learned with my Cobra. If I've offended anyone I'm sorry. But I was with good people so the car didn't get hurt during my not so finest hour. Anyways, I'm freaking out because I find shifting to be a little difficult at times. I mean, I shift well, lets say 75% of the time but its the other 25% that scares me. I shift and I hear two things: rattles and clunks. The rattles comes when I'm either starting slow in a high gear or even rolling in 2nd and then applying gas. The clunks happen when I shift fast or sometimes shift period. I've tried everything from applying more gas when releasing the clutch to releasing faster to releasing slower. Some things work better than others such as applying more gas, as I find that seems to smooth some of the clunk (but adds to the rattle). I've always driven automatic (again, I'm sorry) and this is my first stick. I'm just worried about all these sounds as I don't know whats causing them or how to fix them. Any tips on how to better drive stick...SINCERELY appreciated. :hail:

cobrabitn
09-09-2007, 12:17 AM
No one taught me to drive a stick, sometimes it just comes natural. My dad had automatics in everything but I believe the best car to learn to drive a stick for a first timer is an old VW bug.

Rattles and clunks is pretty much the norm for these cars unless it is excessively obvious. I wouldn't let it bother me and basically practice makes perfect when it comes to shifting your snake. I still have problems with my 04 and I have been driving manual transmission since the early 80's. If you think it is a mechanical problem, then I would have a competent mechanic take a look at it for you.

red04svtcobra
09-09-2007, 07:50 AM