PDA

View Full Version : transmission question


Alex951
09-27-2007, 01:18 AM
when i try to put my car into reverse it doesnt go in some times, but when i roll a little bit it does. nothing to worry about right?

tcrews
09-27-2007, 12:24 PM
Right, this is normal. Ford doesn't use a 'syncronized' reverse gear so sometimes it's difficult to get in gear unless you "roll" a little.

Alex951
09-27-2007, 10:09 PM
thats what i thought lol had to be sure

Bartman01
09-27-2007, 11:58 PM
Right, this is normal. Ford doesn't use a 'syncronized' reverse gear so sometimes it's difficult to get in gear unless you "roll" a little.

Depends. Did a little digging on Tremec's web site the last time this came up:

The 96-99's used the T-45 which has a constant mesh, double disconnect reverse (what ever that means).

The other transmisions:

When the 93 Cobra was introduced, so was the "Cobra Spec" T-5. It was the first T-5 with a front tapered output bearing and steel front bearing retainer. The Cobra boxes also received a reverse gear brake and synchro assembly where there was none before. Just about everything else remained the same. Torque rating was increased to 310ft/lbs.

T-56 and TR-3650 - Constant mesh, synchronized reverse.

dewone
09-28-2007, 09:08 AM
I have to do the same thing from time to time. No biggie :thumbsup:

Stavesacre21
10-08-2007, 02:12 AM
I was told the same thing by AAMCO when I replaced my T-45. Its an unsyncronized gear and therefor may not be completely in line to go into gear. All you have to do it put it in 1st and give it an everysoslight rock...barely even nudge the car, then go back...


...always slides right in then.

Alex951
10-08-2007, 08:38 PM
now the gears grind when i try to put it in reverse............... but i wait a minute or rock the car a little and it stops...............some one tell me this isnt a clutch problem, cuz thats whet everyone else has said.

ugggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg:mad:

blk04cobra1
10-08-2007, 11:06 PM
do you have a firewall adjuster or adjustable clutch cable? might just need some adjusting

Alex951
10-09-2007, 03:20 AM
i have no clue where any of that stuff is yet..........BUT putting it in first then trying reverse makes it not grind anymore. :) found that out on another thread on here.

blk04cobra1
10-09-2007, 12:08 PM
i have no clue where any of that stuff is yet..........BUT putting it in first then trying reverse makes it not grind anymore. :) found that out on another thread on here.
gotcha...most likely you do not have an adjustable cable, but you can purchase a quadrant and firewall adjuster...this might help and it's cheaper than a new tranny :thumbsup:

billystick
10-22-2007, 03:20 PM
I have similar porblems and find that putting it into 1st or 4rd first, then into reverse prevents the gear from sticking as you described.

Hope that helps...

Alex951
10-24-2007, 03:22 AM
thanks for the help. yay for no more grinding!

blk04cobra1
10-24-2007, 10:53 AM
thanks for the help. yay for no more grinding!
what did you end up doing?

Alex951
10-24-2007, 06:57 PM
i just click it into first before moving it to reverse.
i got another question, when driving around i can hear a noise coming from my tranny, ive got it sitting at aamco right now getting looked at, the noise sounds like the gears spinning( its kinda a humming noise), isnt that stuff supossed to be quite?
i mean its not that loud, but every noise coming from my car bugs me cuz i dont want anything to go wrong with it........it does have ams oil in the tranny, u think thats the reason it would be making this sound?

Alex951
10-24-2007, 08:05 PM
ok, so they said there was nothing wrong with it, but they did hear a noise from the backend of my car, they think its the rear diff, i think its my bald ass tires.
and yes every noise bugs me cuz i dont want my car to break and me not have my wheels for a while..........:)