PDA

View Full Version : What's wrong with the Alternator!!!???


SuperG
01-29-2008, 10:07 PM
OK...battery pooped out...tested battery...it was fine...ok, must need a new alternator...removed, tested, failed...charged battery, installed new alternator, battery pooped out again...installed new battery and alternator was NOT charging.

So then I tested the alternator and it failed...replaced, installed (not tested since place that I bought it cannot seem to test it), NOT charging!!!

The multitester is showing 11.7V across the battery while the engine is running (not running it was 12.xx). I also put the multitester in the alternator nut (the one with the wire running to it) and the block and got the same reading...11.7V.

Do I have another bad alternator or is something else going on?

Also, please take a look at the following 2 pics...I found an orange hard plastic tube (I assume it's a vacuum line) that has split apart. One end goes into a mess of covered tubes and wires, the other end goes down to a round metal thingamajig...what is the tube for, what is the metal thing, and where does the other end go?

http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/11/web/2183000-2183999/2183045_54_full.jpg

http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/11/web/2183000-2183999/2183045_55_full.jpg

As always, your help is greatly appreciated!

9Cobra9
01-31-2008, 01:18 PM
check the ground off the motor. i had a problem with my car killing the battery and i thought it was the altenator, i replaced it and it still done the same thing and one night i took jumper cables and hook one end to a bolt on top of the motor and hooked the other end (same color) to the body or anywhere up under the hood to ground the engine and it fired right up with me. while this was going on i could not crank the car i had to roll it off everytime, but try this and i hope it works for you. if it is the ground the ground wire is up under the car and connects to the frame and the other end is connected to one of the motor mounts. good luck:thumbsup:

SuperG
01-31-2008, 03:23 PM
Well, I inadvertently left out some information...which is I was running around the place without the instrument cluster.

So once solved, I created this post:

http://www.svtcobraclub.com/forums/showthread.php?t=15345

...since I thought this thread would not get any replies!