PDA

View Full Version : Wanna Make my cobra faster

tjharris
02-22-2010, 07:29 PM
I am a proud owner of a 1999 rio red convertible cobra. The only performance mod I have on the car as of now is a JLT CAI. The next part is probably going to be a slp catted x-pipe. I would like to know what I should do next. Is there anyone that could give suggestions on parts that would up my performance. I am wanting to atleast make 500hp. I was also wondering if anyone knew how much a stock 4.6l motor can hold. I am a little new to the cobra world, but I am loving every moment.

corvetteman39
02-22-2010, 07:44 PM
I'm just learning myself about the Cobra world but just like with any other sports cars that run 305hp on up to 390hp, to hit 500hp the quickest way would be supercharger or turbo.

SuperG
02-23-2010, 10:13 AM
I am not sure on the 99's motor, but on the 96-98 expect up to 420 rwhp before problems occur. Building the engine up for for more Hp can cost anywhere from $3-7,000 and the same for Hp upgrades and tuning, depending on the routes you take. There is some good info on svtperformance.com as well.

ausie
02-27-2010, 01:49 AM
The 99/01 Cobra's are fast cars. However, what I can remember with mine was waiting for 2nd gear to wind out. Unfortunately, the rear gear ratio of 3.27 is a little short from the fun factor. Either 3.73 or 4.10 rear gear will wake up the performance of your engine considerably. Changing from a steel flywheel to an aluminum flywheel will also improve performance.

For starters, the first mod I would make to a 99 would be the coolant bypass fix. There is a kit for it (used to be made by Apten) which connects both heads together in the rear of the engine. This can only be done with the transmission removed.