PDA

View Full Version : 96 Oil Pressure Gauge


SVTSnak
05-20-2010, 07:02 PM
Hey all...

When I bought my car the oil pressure gauge has always swung to the left and read below the L. I knew the car had oil pressure or it wouldn't still be running. :eek:

Anyway, I wasn't sure if it was the gauge or the wiring or the sensor. I did replace the sensor a while ago when I replaced my O2 sensors, but no luck.

So, today I finally went through the checklist in the service manual and it comes down to the point that the actual gauge is bad. Not sure how/why, but apparently it is.

I called Ford about a replacement...dealer said they don't make the part any more and he can't find anyone that has one sitting around anywere in the country. :( :eek: So much for finding a new replacement. :mad:

So, my question is, does anyone know if I can use an oil pressure gauge out of a Mustang GT? I know the faces are different (GT is black and the SVT is white), but other than that, are they the same? I have a much better chance finding a GT in a junkyard out here than an SVT. If I have to, I can probably even switch out the face plates if I can carefully take off the needle and switch them out. :cool:

But I want to make sure they are the same part and/or are compatible before I go and try and get one out of a GT and install it in my Cobra.

Thanks!
Mat

oldguy
06-10-2010, 02:01 PM
Mat,

When I was restoring a 65 GTO a few years ago I was able to take the existing gauges to a automotive gauge restoration specialist (I happen to live in the San Jose CA. area, but you can find them nationwide) and they were able to fix and restore the gauges. That might be another option for you.

Good luck,

Old Guy.....

SVTSnak
06-11-2010, 06:42 AM
Hey there!

Thanks for posting up. I do appreciate it. I never even thought about them possibly being rebuilt. :eek:

I ended up replacing it with one out of a 95 Thunderbird and got it to work just fine. I had to mess around and get the needle to fit properly by merging the two gauges, but I did get it to work right. So, it reads right now and I'm happy.

If I wasn't going to be selling the car soon, I would just put in the A piller Autometer gauges and just be done with it and wouldn't even care. However, I'm not going to pay to put those in just to sell it. LOL

But thanks again for responding. :thumbsup:

Regards,
Mat