PDA

View Full Version : a frightening noise

temjin9876
07-02-2002, 05:40 PM
a month or two before my engine blew from unknown reasons, at startup, it would make a "whoosh whoosh whoosh" noise when it was from a cold start. My mechanic, who sometimes talks a little fast for me gave me a quick explanation for it a while back (I am a bit new to engine internals) ;he said something about lifters???

anywho, it has started making that noise again and am wondering if anyone can put my mind to rest about this

if you need me to, I can go record it for who is interested

thanx

temjin9876
07-03-2002, 01:03 AM
by the way, when starting the car, you know how it shoots to about 2500 rpms and settles to an idle? the ssshhh, ssshhh, sshhhhh happens when it is shooting up to 2500 rpms and the sound dies immediately after it begins to settle

I am sweating bullets everytime I start that car. Getting that new engine was a NIGHTMARE

please help me folks, you always do!

:hail:

temjin9876
07-06-2002, 07:39 PM
has anyone had any problems with oil getting to the valves at startup...I am thinking maybe the sound is because of this

cobrabitn
07-06-2002, 11:55 PM
I have not had any of these problems on my 99 Cobra.

ballistic
07-07-2002, 02:47 AM
I have a rattle that occurs at the moment you are talking about but I am installing a accusump to preoil the engine before starting this should stop the rattle

blown92gt
07-11-2002, 04:18 PM
What does your oil press look like when you start up the car. Does the car sit for long periods of time. If it does it could be your lifters just pumping up. After the car has idled for a minute or so does the sound go away. Does the car ever cut out when your driving . Did you burn the bearings up in the old motor. Did you use the same oil pump. If you did burn the bearings up on the old motor and your oil press isn't very good I wouldn't drive it again until you put in a new oil pump.

blown92gt
07-11-2002, 04:27 PM