PDA

View Full Version : Vortech Pulley ?

98BlckCobraVert
07-28-2002, 09:43 PM
Right now I have the standard 3.60 that came with the kit. It is suppose to give 6-8 of boost. I see around 7 most of the time. I have the chip vortech supplied and it seems to make my Cobra run rich. Will I be able to switch to the 3.12 pulley (10-12 lbs) and still be alright without a dyno tune since the car is already running rich anyways? Also can anyone recommend a better belt than the one Vortech sent. My belts seems to slip way to much.

smashedheadcat
07-28-2002, 10:02 PM
Switching to a smaller pulley could end up being a $6000 mistake............

98BlckCobraVert
07-28-2002, 10:08 PM
Speaking from experience are we? Now that you have my attention tell me why it would be a mistake and what I might need to do to make it safe. By the way are you still flying or are you out now. I used to be a flight engineer on 130's to. Do you have your Cobra back running again?

smashedheadcat
07-28-2002, 10:14 PM
Originally posted by 98BlckCobraVert
Speaking from experience are we? Now that you have my attention tell me why it would be a mistake and what I might need to do to make it safe. By the way are you still flying or are you out now. I used to be a flight engineer on 130's to. Do you have your Cobra back running again?

Well, i guess you could say i'm speaking from expirience, but not really. Yes, my motor did bite the big one, but it wasn't from a smaller pulley. Alright, why it would be a mistake: Avoiding a "lean" condition is the best protection from detonation. So, fuel is important. It is very important. Unlike the '130's...... more air isn't always good. If you have the fuel system to support more boost, then you'll be okay. Vortech's chip is set to run rich for a reason. That's how they stay in business. They keep it rich to prevent detonation. If i was to cram more boost into the factory short block, then i'd make sure my fuel system was up to par.

smashedheadcat