PDA

View Full Version : Magnaflows

temjin9876
09-13-2002, 03:24 PM
Alright.... I really need some input on this one as time is limited. I found very positive reviews of the Magnaflow catback on most sites and am tired of the sound of my 2-chamber flowmasters. So, I bought the catback w/magnapacks for my 98. I went to my mechanic and asked how much he would charge to put it on and he asked what kind it was and I said Magnaflow. Well he started raving about how it was a waste of money and that the flows will make more power than the Magnaflow catback.

Now, I have limited knowledge in the science of making power and my mechanic's opinion has me pretty uneasy about changing my exhaust setup. I am sticking with the stock h-pipe for now and really need some help because it is not too late to take it back.

I would rather have power than sound but what experience does anyone have to offer?:( :( :( :(

smashedheadcat
09-13-2002, 05:21 PM
Rest easy. Magnaflow is definately one of the highest quality exhaust companies out there. Stainless steel is a definate advantage over the flows. The sound is probably going to be quieter than you setup now. I'd go ahead and imagine that the magnaflows will be equal to, or better than the flows when it comes to power. It's not a waste of money, so don't worry about that. Instead, think of it as a upgrade. Anything with JBA, BORLA, Bassani, Magnaflow, Dr. Gas (to name a few) got popular for a reason. You can't go wrong with pieces from these companies.

temjin9876
09-13-2002, 05:31 PM
thanx for the input and i would still like to hear from others

yeah, the flowmaster catback idea got pretty soured in my head when I saw a guys tailpipes that were turning kinda yellow; the tips really were not aging well. I LOVE the sound of magna's and the magnapack is really cool. If I still do it, I'll post a couple pics and let you guys hear it in carolina:thumbsup:

smashedheadcat
09-13-2002, 09:19 PM
You're welcome. :thumbsup:

JBejarano