PDA

View Full Version : Shifter Problems?

Spiffy668
09-30-2002, 11:51 AM
Specifically 99-01 owners, any of you have any problems "finding" gears? Majority of the time, when you shift into R, it will grind until you put the car into another gear then back into R. Sometimes other gears are difficult to shift into, but there is no grinding. The few people who have had the chance to drive my car, first thing out of their mouth is "You need a new/better shifter". :D

Here's my ?s:
Anyone else have this happen and if you bought an aftermarket stick, did the problem disappear? I'd like to make sure this is a "cosmetic" problem instead of something more, like a synchro or shift fork, something internal that will make my wallet scream in pain.

Those with aftermarket sticks, which has served you best? I've been a pro 5.0 man since I had one in my 95, but I've never tried any of the others so I'm not too knowledgeable in their feel.

98banana
09-30-2002, 12:32 PM
Originally posted by Spiffy668
Specifically 99-01 owners, any of you have any problems "finding" gears? Majority of the time, when you shift into R, it will grind until you put the car into another gear then back into R. Sometimes other gears are difficult to shift into, but there is no grinding. The few people who have had the chance to drive my car, first thing out of their mouth is "You need a new/better shifter". :D

Here's my ?s:
Anyone else have this happen and if you bought an aftermarket stick, did the problem disappear? I'd like to make sure this is a "cosmetic" problem instead of something more, like a synchro or shift fork, something internal that will make my wallet scream in pain.

Those with aftermarket sticks, which has served you best? I've been a pro 5.0 man since I had one in my 95, but I've never tried any of the others so I'm not too knowledgeable in their feel.

I've got a '98 and it has the same problems with shifting into reverse. IMO, it's because the tranny is a piece of crap.