PDA

View Full Version : Check Engine Light


94 White Snake
10-30-2002, 06:00 PM
The check engine light comes on only after I've gone maybe a block.
I can rev the engine and no light comes on however soon as I get about a block it comes on.
I did the trick with the battery and I even was able to take it out of the computer only to have the light come on by the end of two blocks.
Anyone had this trouble before?
Anyone know the answer?
White Snake (Steve)

sn8kbit
10-30-2002, 06:03 PM
thinking back to the old 5 OH days, just about everytime i had a light (on mine or any other of my friends) it ended up being the 02 sensors. if your mileage is getting up there, i'd check em out.
also, isn't autozone doing free diagnostics now? they are in nashville anyway....

Black Snake
10-30-2002, 11:21 PM
There is no way in the world to look at that light on the dash and know exactly what the problem is. Go spend $30 on a code reader and find out. That's the beauty of the EEC IV, it's cheap/easy to scan for codes.

cobrabitn
11-01-2002, 08:12 AM
Go to Autozone and they will read it for you for free. There's nothing like getting a freebie. ;)

lanascobra
11-21-2002, 06:27 PM
when my check engine light came on (95 cobra), it was my mass air flow sensor. I had a K&N airfilter on, and the dealership said it was ruining my Mass air flow sensor. I don't believe anything the dealership tells me, but I'm just telling you what I heard.

blwncobra95
11-28-2002, 07:13 PM
AUTOZONE DOESNT DO THIS SERVICE ANYMORE........NOT IN MY AREA ANYWAY..................THEY ARE NOT CERTIFIED MECHANICS TO BE ABLE TO TELL YOU WHATS WRONG WITH YOUR ENGINE

cobrapace94
12-04-2002, 08:16 PM
Hey Steve,
Did you figure out what the check engine light was on for? If you need, I have a code reader with instructions and can pull codes and clear them. Could help read and try and figure out what is going on. Just guessing it could be O2 sensors.
Darrell

94 White Snake
12-05-2002, 06:58 AM
Darrell,
I did buy a code reader that can pull codes and clear them, however , I have only hooked it up once to clear the codes. The light came back on about 4 blocks from the house.
Maybe give it another try this weekend.
White Snake (Steve) :cussing:

cobrapace94
12-05-2002, 08:34 AM
What codes did it give you when you pulled codes? That would help in diagnosting the problem.