PDA

View Full Version : miss that refuses to go away


Calvin_1976
10-30-2002, 08:27 PM
A couple weeks ago I replaced plugs and started getting a miss right away. Popped the hood and had someone key the ignition and saw I had spark coming from the wires so I replaced them. Then decided might as well do cap and rotor button. So I now have new plugs, wires, cap and rotor button but I cant seem to get rid of this miss. Anyone have ideas?

smashedheadcat
10-30-2002, 08:29 PM
Coil??????

Calvin_1976
10-30-2002, 08:29 PM
Its only doing it at low rpm if I lug it a little. Higher it seems ok. I might have my stock coil around but I have to find it.

Calvin_1976
10-30-2002, 08:31 PM
Damn impressive response time smashedheadcat! :bounce:

smashedheadcat
10-30-2002, 08:42 PM
Ha ha ha. I didn't even realize it. I never even go onto the 5.0 forum. :D

smashedheadcat
10-30-2002, 08:42 PM
You could also try messing with the timing...... Or, check for a vaccum leak or something?????

Calvin_1976
10-30-2002, 09:41 PM
I ran down to the parts store to see if I could get the codes read. Couldnt but the guy behind the couter was asking me everything I tried and when it started and it got me thinking. It really started after the plugs went in because I didnt do wires for a few days. Besides I realized it doesnt do it cold so it is probably a cracked insulator. We chased a terrible miss on my neighbors truck for almost 2 months before we tried something simple like plugs and that was it. Well should know tomorrow and I hope thats it I have an autox coming up.

Calvin_1976
10-31-2002, 02:52 PM
It was not just one cracked plug but two on the same bank! I try and always use the same box for one bank. So I bet the box I bought had been dropped or something.

smashedheadcat
10-31-2002, 10:15 PM
Sounds like it's a definate possiblity. If that's not it, make sure that the plugs are properly gapped........ also, make sure you're not using Bosch +4's. They made my old car miss like crazy.

Calvin_1976
10-31-2002, 10:19 PM
There were 2 cracked I fixed it at lunch today. I only run the motorcrafts or autolites.

STU
10-31-2002, 10:20 PM
It's hard to beat the stock Motorcraft plugs. They do a good job and are inexpensive.