PDA

View Full Version : Tremec Bellhousing ??'s


Aaron94
03-09-2004, 06:04 PM
Heya everyone,

I see a couple T56's for sale on our boards, and the idea of a six speed in my 94 is pretty enticing. I currently have a tremec 3550 in the car, does the 3550 and T56 use the same bellhousing? Do the 4.6 and 5.0 even require different bellhousings? i would think they would, but perhaps the trans side of the housing is the same for both tremec's, making the swap relativly painless. Also, are the splines different on the input shaft of the two tranny's, or can use my current clutch setup? Anything else i should know about putting a T56 in a 94? any thoughts or advice is much appreciated! Thanks. :thumbsup:

Aaron94
03-09-2004, 06:24 PM
Hmmm, by looking at the gear ratios, there really isnt a whole lot of advantage in the T56 over the T3550, at least where i would like to see it.

T3550:

3.27, 1.98, 1.34, 1.00, 0.68

T56:

1 2.97
2 2.07
3 1.43
4 1.00
5 0.80
6 0.62

Longer 1st, which would be kinda nice, shorter 2nd and 3rd is good, but the top gear is pretty much the same. Since i am looking mainly for lower RPMs on the highway, it doesnt look like i am going to get that out of a T56, not worth the expense to me. So i guess i answered my own question...
:D

smashedheadcat
03-11-2004, 12:08 PM
Well, if I can be of any help..... I'll toss this in there. All T-56 trans besides the Viper spec one have 10 spline input shafts. So, if you got, say, just a T-56, you clutch would work. If you get a viper spec one, a clutch disc would be required.

Josh

Aaron94
03-11-2004, 01:16 PM
Cool, good to know... Thanks! :thumbsup:

smashedheadcat
03-12-2004, 10:54 PM
Sure thing.