PDA

View Full Version : Help!!

My Cobra
04-11-2004, 02:03 PM
I have a 1999 cobra witht he mach 460 sound system (crap) I took out my stock radios in put in a new head unit. i went out and bough the wiring harness from wal-mart (wrong one it does not include the speaker wiring harness ) So off to radio shack (got the same kit but with the speaker harness ) hooked it up and it does not turn on or anything. Also there are 2 square plugs and 2 black plugs that say amp on them then there is a smaller plug with a red cap on it. the guy from radio shack said it was probley a cd changer control or something like that. anyway do i need to get some kind of wiring harness to hook up all of these plugs? if so where can i get one? Why does ford make these things so hard? I have put steros in cars for a long long time and never had this much trouble.

Aaron94
04-12-2004, 02:33 PM
Alright, i have no experience with the mach system, but i do i have experience with aftermarket stereos, so i will try to help here. the black plug probably has the wires coming back from your factory amps. As for the one with the red cap, if it wasent used before it probably is for CD changer wiring. if i were you i would try to wire it up using the factory amps, because they make much more power than any aftermarket head unit. However, i dont know if that is possible because the stock unit sends the speaker signals to the amps "unpowered" if you will. the new headunit will be powering the signal, and then running it through the factory amp. I dont know if that is possible, or safe. I know there is a way to tap into the speaker wires before they get to the amps. That aside, if it is not even turning on you should only be concerned with only 3 wires, the hot at all times, hot when ignition is on, and ground. When i get home tonight i will check my ford wiring manuals, and tell you which color wires are which. I believe the manual also gives schematics for the mach wiring, i'll see if i cant photocopy t