PDA

View Full Version : Warrenty


light93
10-11-2004, 11:07 PM
I have seen several posts where individuals were told that installing smaller pulleys will void your warrenty. That being the case how difficult is it to reinstall the original pulley before taking your car into the dealership?:D http://www.svtcobraclub.com/forums/images/icons/icon10.gif

cobrabitn
10-11-2004, 11:13 PM
If you have engine problems then they'll check to see if the pulley was removed. They will know if they were changed and odds are, will deny warranty. Not sure if that is bad news for ya? :(

NewFoundPower
10-11-2004, 11:17 PM
Yeah, from what I have heard, there is some "seal" or something on the factory pulley and in order to change to a smaller pulley you have to take it off. So, the dealership will know you have changed it.

-D-

Viperone
10-12-2004, 11:10 AM
I have heard the opposite, that there is no seal but they will look at the bolts to see if they indicate removal etc.....although whats to say you can't take the pulley off and replace it with a chromed version that meets factory specs just for its good looks under the hood? Can they deny coverage then? I doubt it! So maybe that is why u pulled off the original pulley...mmmmmmm

NewFoundPower
10-12-2004, 11:29 AM
Well then, if that is the case I think I see a smaller pulley in my near future.:D :thumbsup:
-D-

Lthl Venom 03
10-13-2004, 03:12 AM
but unfortunately the pulley isn't the problem... :( The real problem lies in that you have to tune your car if u have a smaller pulley. And to do that you have to get a chip or flash the computer... and that they can tell for sure.... :( I'm on the same boat... i guess it comes down to... what are the odds of having engine problems? :doubt:

NewFoundPower
10-13-2004, 08:40 AM
Somebody told me that there was another port you could use to access the computer. Something like a USB. He said that not many tuners use it but that if you went that route, then Ford wouldn't know that the stock program had been changed. Also, you can get tuners that save the original program and then can reinstall it if needs be.

-D-

jackers
10-13-2004, 09:14 AM
A smaller pulley poses two problems.

1 - Like posted above, your computer will most likely need a chip installed by your custom tuner. This chip goes into a port on the computer which terminals are covered in a glue type seal. If the seal is removed, bye bye warranty.

2 - Your computer will store what is know as an over-boost condition. The SVT tech will be able to download this and prove the smaller pulley.

Now when I purchased my car, it came with a 2.8 pulley but the guy who owned it before me installed a second computer in place of the stock one. I have the stock one (with the glue still installed) in a box in my closet at home. I have heard that there is a non volital memory that stores total miles and such, but I do not know if the over-boost condition can be pulled from this non-volital memory or not.

There is another port that can be used for tunes. It is the OBD2 (I believe that it the name of it) port. It is located kinda behind the radio console. That is what people plug their preditor handheld tuner into.

I will find smashedheadcat and have him post on this to correct my mistakes.

jack

smashedheadcat
10-13-2004, 11:48 AM
Looks good to me, and from what I've researched...... you are dead on ballz accurate.

ausie
10-14-2004, 07:26 AM
If you re-flash the code by any method, the date code is recorded on the chip. Even if you restore the factory code, a new date code will be recorded. The only way to by-pass that is to use another ECU and keep the old one. They can pull up rom code information on the dash without having to use the ODBII port since the diagnostics with the trip odometer button can be activated easily. IF just one bit is different it will show up in the rom code hex display. If you have some related problems which indicate that the pulley was changed they will investigate everything in order to prevent paying for the repair. The techs may not understand what to do in the shop, but the regional SVT guy or girl will know exaclty what to do. If they send in their specialist all bets are off. The stock ECU also performs data logging in order to maintain fuel/air curves. There are many ways they can detect changes in the vehicle. They also have the black box in the vehicle too (I read they would implement this in 03 but in what vehicles is uncertain, I read this in an automotive-industrial engineering bulletin at work back in 02 as a new inovative approach for diagnostics. If they got beyond the big brother politics you may indeed have one of these on board). I doubt that they installed these things yet but they would not annouce it if they did. It was probably just a fantasy type information, I see a lot of that crap in engineering journals.