PDA

View Full Version : Stalling problem?????


VegasPackerFan
11-17-2004, 06:58 PM
I have a 2003 SVT Cobra. In the past 24 hrs it has shutoff 3 times under NORMAL driving. It also stoped one time banging second realy hard( no redline either). I brought it to a Ford dealership out here and they can't get me in until Wednesday of next week.

This car is stock except for a mac cold air intake. The car has been reprogramed(3r3a-yb) on 7-9-03 once before at a dealership buy the previous owner. I don't know what that meens but that is what the sticker under the hood says.

I just got this car 10-29-04. I love it but stuff like this right off the bat makes me a bit sketchy about my buy.

Any help on this would be great. Thanks in advance.


Vegas:dunno:

crunchit
11-17-2004, 08:03 PM
Mine has been stalling too. Normally when I am turning and my rpms are below 1k. Or at an abrupt stop. The service supervisor said he would increase the idle a bit for me and that its the steering which places a great deal of pressure on the engine when turning at low speeds (under5mph). Nevertheless this shouldn't happen. I am getting ready to do some mods so I'm going to have to reflash my computer that's why I'm not *****ing about it. I would definitely first check to see if your cold air is connected properly. At first mine wasn't and I felt like an idiot at the shop.

hope that helps...Tell me what happens.

Steve

NewFoundPower
11-17-2004, 08:13 PM
I would definitely check your CAI. You would be surprised at how many problems they can cause if not installed correctly. I had some stalling issues on my 93 and come to find out it was because I had taken my filter off my CAI to clean it and didn't reinstall it properly.

-D-

VegasPackerFan
11-17-2004, 08:28 PM
Thanks guys I will look at it.

Crunchit. You hit it right on the head, like you were ridding with me.

Vegas.

Mirage
11-18-2004, 10:06 AM
VegasPackerFan~ Was the re-program done with the CAI kit on the car? I had a similiar issue when I installed my MAC CAI kit. I didn't know it at the time since I also did my exhaust and TB. Turns out that I needed my computer re-programmed with the stock air unit. After the update I then re-installed the CAI kit and no problems since.

VegasPackerFan
11-18-2004, 10:47 PM
VegasPackerFan~ Was the re-program done with the CAI kit on the car? I had a similiar issue when I installed my MAC CAI kit. I didn't know it at the time since I also did my exhaust and TB. Turns out that I needed my computer re-programmed with the stock air unit. After the update I then re-installed the CAI kit and no problems since.
Thanks. I don't know if it was. I bought the car with it on?????? Looks like something I should check out. I am trying to find the dealer who did it. I have there ford svt dealer number(20411 or 20711 not sure which one) but I can't find a place to reserch where they are????

Vegas

Mirage
11-19-2004, 11:08 AM
VegasPackerFan~ I would try the following link: http://www.fordvehicles.com/dealerships/locate/index.asp and see if you can find the specific dealer who did the work on your Cobra. As mentioned, check to make sure the filter is clean along with a tight connection to the tube (i.e. clamp is tight). HTH.

crunchit
11-22-2004, 07:15 PM
WOuld be real interesting to wee what you find out...:bounce:

VegasPackerFan
11-23-2004, 12:33 AM
WOuld be real interesting to wee what you find out...:bounce:
Sorry I have been realy busy. We just bought new Banchie and Raptor quads. I have not brought it in yet. I will get it in next week. It has not done it since I posted????????

Vegas

VegasPackerFan
12-14-2004, 10:55 PM
Ok I have been real busy latley. But I just brought my car in today for the stalling problem. It is a idle vacume part that is bad. They had to special order me one. It is comming in tomorrow. I will post the part number when I get the part put in. Hope this helps anyone else.

Vegas

WOuld be real interesting to wee what you find out...:bounce:

cobracrazy
12-15-2004, 09:22 AM
Some stalling problems in the 03' early models is a known problem. It sometimes reveals itself after an air cleaner upgrade. Infact the problem described below is the exact problem I had.

Mine has been stalling too. Normally when I am turning and my rpms are below 1k. Or at an abrupt stop. The service supervisor said he would increase the idle a bit for me and that its the steering which places a great deal of pressure on the engine when turning at low speeds (under5mph). Nevertheless this shouldn't happen. I am getting ready to do some mods so I'm going to have to reflash my computer that's why I'm not *****ing about it. I would definitely first check to see if your cold air is connected properly. At first mine wasn't and I felt like an idiot at the shop.

There is a TSB out and requires a simple reflash of the cars computer. There have been many threads on this subject. I think the exact terms Ford uses is "Loss of Power" upgrade or reflash. Once done my car was perfect. I would check into this before the shop starts to adjust your idle. Otherwise you may end up with a very high idle for no reason. Not to mention that it probably won't fix the issue. Find a good SVT qualified dealer and they should know about this issue as soon as you mention it. It is a no brainer....

:thumbsup:

Big T
12-15-2004, 08:34 PM
Some stalling problems in the 03' early models is a known problem. It sometimes reveals itself after an air cleaner upgrade. Infact the problem described below is the exact problem I had.



There is a TSB out and requires a simple reflash of the cars computer. There have been many threads on this subject. I think the exact terms Ford uses is "Loss of Power" upgrade or reflash. Once done my car was perfect. I would check into this before the shop starts to adjust your idle. Otherwise you may end up with a very high idle for no reason. Not to mention that it probably won't fix the issue. Find a good SVT qualified dealer and they should know about this issue as soon as you mention it. It is a no brainer....

:thumbsup:
Mine stalls also. If I take it into the dealer and get the reflash, will it mess up the tune I have with my sct flash tuner and pulley? Do I have to get my tuner to do it instead? Thanks.

cobracrazy
12-15-2004, 10:42 PM
Mine stalls also. If I take it into the dealer and get the reflash, will it mess up the tune I have with my sct flash tuner and pulley? Do I have to get my tuner to do it instead? Thanks.

Not sure how to answer this one..... You might want to discuss it with the guys that gave you the custom tune. I am not sure if the reflash is an alteration of the actual code that runs on the computer or a simple modification of settings.

Can somone else offer some advice on this??????

Bingo13
12-16-2004, 12:29 PM
Mine stalls also. If I take it into the dealer and get the reflash, will it mess up the tune I have with my sct flash tuner and pulley? Do I have to get my tuner to do it instead? Thanks.

Your SCT tuner can provide your tune with the AMZ2 base file. In fact all of SCT's new tunes are based on AMZ2 and they no longer suggest any Y-code based files.

If you take it to the dealer you will have to return your tune to stock before the flash.

VegasPackerFan
12-16-2004, 11:21 PM
Ok here is what they did. It seems to be better. It was a sticking IAC Valve. They replaced it and then they reprogramed PCM per SSM 16293 ????

Hope this helps anyone else with this problem.

Vegas

Butcher
12-17-2004, 02:20 AM
Mine has been stalling too. Normally when I am turning and my rpms are below 1k. Or at an abrupt stop. The service supervisor said he would increase the idle a bit for me and that its the steering which places a great deal of pressure on the engine when turning at low speeds (under5mph). Nevertheless this shouldn't happen. I am getting ready to do some mods so I'm going to have to reflash my computer that's why I'm not *****ing about it. I would definitely first check to see if your cold air is connected properly. At first mine wasn't and I felt like an idiot at the shop.

hope that helps...Tell me what happens.

SteveCheck the build date. Some of the earlier build dates arent complimentary to your head build dates. This really is important.

Also, some of the Predator tunes run lean. SCT runs generally aroun 12.0 for street. Predator programmers generally run around 9.0. Good for horsepower, runs lean, more horsepower. SCT runs more towards a day in, day out tune. Thats with a 2.8 pulley, I might add, so look at your tune on a good Dyno.
9.0 is rather lean for dailey driving. My .02 cents. Got to love FMC motors, depends really on the builders. :)


Jimmie
]

Jimmie