PDA

View Full Version : MGW shifter


DesertCobra
02-24-2005, 11:19 AM
After reading the install guide I came away with the impression that the
6-speed T56 transmission used in our 03'-04' Cobras has a "built-in" stop and therefore does not require the MGW shifter stops be used ... thus one must remove the stop nuts/screws for T56 applications.

All you MGW folks with T56 Cobras out there ...... what was your take on stops ?

NewFoundPower
02-24-2005, 11:43 AM
George told me that you didn't have to use the stops but I did just for that little extra piece of mind. :thumbsup:

-D-

blk04cobra1
02-24-2005, 04:05 PM
same here...plus I didnt know about it til i put everything back together and didnt feel like taking it apart again

DesertCobra
02-24-2005, 05:13 PM
Thanks

jack
02-24-2005, 09:18 PM
I've tried it both ways and i like it better with the stops. To me it feels like its going in to far without them.

InfamousSVT
02-24-2005, 10:49 PM
George told me that you didn't have to use the stops but I did just for that little extra piece of mind. :thumbsup:

-D-
George told me the same thing! George actually installed mine for me at the Nov. DragDay event and we didn't put the stops in.
I've been happy with it the way it is, so I probably won't be putting in the stops!:)
Just my .02!

VegasPackerFan
02-24-2005, 11:07 PM
No stops in mine.

A SVT rep at the SEMA show in Vegas along with a B&M rep told me . Don't use the stops.

InfamousSVT
02-24-2005, 11:42 PM
One thing George did tell me about the stops:

If the stops aren't set right and you are in gear and the stop (set wrong) pushes the car out of gear when you take off. That can cause more damage to the shift forks then anything else. Plus the T-56 already have the stops in the transmission anyway!
Just another side note!:)

Paratrooper82d
02-25-2005, 10:53 PM
Mgw :d