PDA

View Full Version : News to Me.


Lumpydogs
03-02-2005, 11:43 AM
Found out that my wife's Ford Explorer will not run with the gas cap
improperly screwed back on. The dash warning lights were on and it
wouldn't hold a steady idle. I tried using plenty of throttle but it would
sputter around 2k rpms then stall when I let off the throttle. Read the
manual in desperation thinking that she had probably gotten bad gas.
Nope, put the gas cap on correctly and within 2 minutes the explorer
was running great. I thought I would spread my new found knowledge. :D

nckissfan
03-02-2005, 11:45 AM
your Cobra will probably do the same. It is the way the computers are nowadays. I got a bad tank of gas one time, the check engine light came on. I called the Ford dealer, and that is the first thing they asked me, was the gas cap on tight.

wrenchturner
03-02-2005, 09:37 PM
Found out that my wife's Ford Explorer will not run with the gas cap
improperly screwed back on. The dash warning lights were on and it
wouldn't hold a steady idle. I tried using plenty of throttle but it would
sputter around 2k rpms then stall when I let off the throttle. Read the
manual in desperation thinking that she had probably gotten bad gas.
Nope, put the gas cap on correctly and within 2 minutes the explorer
was running great. I thought I would spread my new found knowledge. :DAlmost all fords, and a few other makes will do this. Most of the time it just throws a code.. but sometimes it will upset it enough to run ruff.... So as a reminder no more filling it up running.. LOL Im from the northeast.. we get about 1 of these a day in my shop in the really cold months.. LOL

cobracrazy
03-03-2005, 08:30 AM
When my wife first got her Expedition a loose gas cap caused the check engine light to turn on. I took it to the dealer and they said they replaced the gas cap and wanted 200 dollars for the trouble.

All they got was a good talking to from the local Ford rep.