PDA

View Full Version : Do you need a tune after installing a CAI?


NewFoundPower
03-21-2005, 11:08 AM
I have heard yes and no when I asked different people. So, do you need a tune? Can the stock program run ok with the added air flow? Thanks.

-D-

Davesnake
03-21-2005, 04:07 PM
I have heard yes and no when I asked different people. So, do you need a tune? Can the stock program run ok with the added air flow? Thanks.

-D-

With the mods in your sig and a CAI you do not need a tune...stock tune will be fine trust me. if you are really concerned put it on the dyno.

Dave

NewFoundPower
03-22-2005, 10:25 AM
Thanks for the reply!!

-D-

blk04cobra1
03-22-2005, 11:58 AM
yeah..you should be fine, but I would be more curious to see what kind of numbers you are putting down with those mods...

NewFoundPower
03-22-2005, 01:30 PM
yeah..you should be fine, but I would be more curious to see what kind of numbers you are putting down with those mods...
Yeah, me too. Knowing my luck it will be around 200rwhp :rotf: .

-D-

InfamousSVT
03-22-2005, 09:03 PM
Yeah, me too. Knowing my luck it will be around 200rwhp :rotf: .

-D-
If that's the case, at least you'll look cool driving it!:D :lol: :jk:

SVTcobra04
03-22-2005, 11:55 PM
do u have to kinda break it in after u install it by driving around at diff. speeds and RPM's?

blk04cobra1
03-23-2005, 08:00 AM
nope...it's ready to be dogged straight out of the box...trust me, the first time you floor the pedal, you won't wanna let off :bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce:

FearTheSnake
03-23-2005, 08:49 AM
nope...it's ready to be dogged straight out of the box...trust me, the first time you floor the pedal, you won't wanna let off :bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce:
Just by changing out the stock box and installing a CAI really seemed to pick up more power than installing the complete X/Pipe and Cat-Back system. I couldn't dyno the results but it seemed to pull better. The CAI certainly made it a little louder under the hood as well!

blk04cobra1
03-23-2005, 04:06 PM
try adding the Accufab TB/plenum...that's a good seat of the pants difference...better throttle response :D and a few ponies on top of that :cool:

FearTheSnake
03-24-2005, 08:49 AM
try adding the Accufab TB/plenum...that's a good seat of the pants difference...better throttle response :D and a few ponies on top of that :cool:
It's on my "To Do" list. Someone was mentioning a while back the Accufab made a whistling noise when they installed one, didn't like the noise? Any truth to that?

SVTcobra04
03-24-2005, 09:50 AM
nope...it's ready to be dogged straight out of the box...trust me, the first time you floor the pedal, you won't wanna let off :bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce:
no i meant to get the cobra's computer to adapt to the new cai.

Davesnake
03-24-2005, 05:45 PM
no i meant to get the cobra's computer to adapt to the new cai.

dissconnect the battery before you install the CAI

NewFoundPower
03-24-2005, 09:23 PM
If that's the case, at least you'll look cool driving it!:D :lol: :jk:
;) ;) ;)

blk04cobra1
03-25-2005, 08:16 AM
dissconnect the battery before you install the CAI
just do that...course, i would disconnect the battery before I start working on the car period...