PDA

View Full Version : had some fun at the track

casey99COBRA
05-08-2005, 04:59 AM
Went to the midnight drags at Rocky Mountain raceway with a couple local friends with mustangs. was my frist time ever. I could only get low 14's the elevation also sucks here though. I'm new to it but it seems like my time is getting better every run. I only ran 3 times. I need to learn how to launch the car. I shift fast but i let off the gas to do it.. Oh and my third burnout was so beautfiul! My car was in a cloud, you really coudn't even see it. Had a friend recording from the stands. IT WAS TIGHT!

ausie
05-08-2005, 11:38 AM
A better shifter would help if you still have the stocker. A good grade clutch quadrant would help too (that would help me anyway since I found the stock plastic adjustable quadrant slips back to a loose setting which causes too much clutch slip and missed gears). The aluminum flywheel and driveshaft would also improve the RPM drop when shifting due to the lower mass.

1. Practice, practice, practice also improves your response time. For starters, consider that you are only racing against the clock.
2. Best to ignore the other driver since that can pose a distraction.
3. Eliminating wheel spin at the launch is probably the big issue.
4. I would guess that 14's are good numbers at higher elevations. Add some NOS fuel additive to the fuel (there is a small amount of nitro methane which should increase the oxygen content to some degree). You can find the fuel additive at auto parts shops, mostly the canister is listed as off road use only. If the rules of the track have tight regulations, leave it out. There is not enough nitro methane in the container to pose any sever issues. I have used it every once in a while in my 01. NOS may be a big help too, but you need to tune for that. Especially at higher elevations, NOS will add oxygen to the fuel. After you win, you can party with it too. :cool: (just kidding)