SCMC Message Forum  
Go Back   SCMC Message Forum > Shelby Forums > Shelby GT500 Forum
User Name
Password

Register FAQ Members List SCMC Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-21-2005, 12:59 PM   #1
nospeedlimit

Shelby Cobra for $35K, not a penny more

Hi, I'm a newbie here and the last Ford I owned was a Ford Tempo 1984 (bought used in 1987). So I'm not really a Ford fan. Some of my dislikes for Ford could be attributed to my own ignorance about the Ford Line (can you blame me, after the Tempo experience I did not want to hear Ford any more) and the "uglification" of the Mustang over the past 30 years. However, I have been drawn to the new Mustang (like just about everyone else) in the past year. I did some limited research and realized that I wanted more power than the current GT. I decided that the 07 Cobra (or whatever they are calling it) would be my next car.

I then stumbled on to this site and realized that the rumors are for a huge markup by the "stealers". $100,000? For a Ford?

Not even for the GT. Get real.

I have made the mistake of buying a first run edition twice in the last 5 years. I got my PT Cruiser the first month it came out (piece of crap car even after I put a turbo stage II on it) and I currently own a 2003 Chevy SSR Vin#1725 . I got both at sticker since I had put my name on a list 2 years in advance.

The Cobra 07 is not really a first run but can be treated as one. From experience, I will tell you that the "stealers" will jack the price up 10K initially (remember the TB) but many will sell at sticker. In a year they will be selling it at a considerable discount. Only car enthusiast would want one, the rest will get a GT version of the Mustang. I love my SSR and will probably keep it for a few more years. It still turns heads but I wish I had waited for an 05 to get the extra ponies. (heck it's cruiser not a racer, I keep telling myself)