SCMC Message Forum  
Go Back   SCMC Message Forum > SVT Platforms > '03-'04 Cobra Forum
User Name
Password

Register FAQ Members List SCMC Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-19-2008, 03:12 PM   #1
mfelice03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 57
Question GT Fuel Pumps

I've heard over 575 hp, it's good to get the pumps, any thoughts?
__________________

2003 Terminator - 627 hp @ 18 lbs boost, 563 ft-lbs torque.
Kenne Bell 2.6L Supercharger and supporting stuff...


mfelice03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 05:50 PM   #2
puzzle13
SCMC Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 634
I was told it depends upon what you are going to do with the car. Some have run almost 700 on stock pumps, but to my knowledge they are just driving them on the street. Any use on the drag strip or the open track I was told should warrant new pumps after 550 rwhp. I switched mine to GT pumps, switched the fuel control module, and the injectors, but I take mine to the open track often. To be sure you should ask your tuner!
puzzle13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 09:46 PM   #3
blk04cobra1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,374
GT pumps alone have handled 800rwhp, but it also requires upgrading your FPDM to duals...I would think to start that if you went with the GT pumps and 60lb injectors that you would be fine.
__________________
2004 Cobra
HP Twin 67's
785rwhp on 9lbs of boost
blk04cobra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 11:05 PM   #4
puzzle13
SCMC Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by blk04cobra1
GT pumps alone have handled 800rwhp, but it also requires upgrading your FPDM to duals...I would think to start that if you went with the GT pumps and 60lb injectors that you would be fine.
FPDM? Upgrade to duels? A little help Tory? I just switched the pumps using the stock hose in the tank with some hose clamps, switched the fuel control module to an upgraded one, and that is it.
puzzle13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 02:28 AM   #5
InfamousSVT
Registered User
 
InfamousSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Gastonia, NC
Posts: 1,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by puzzle13
FPDM? Upgrade to duels? A little help Tory? I just switched the pumps using the stock hose in the tank with some hose clamps, switched the fuel control module to an upgraded one, and that is it.
The stock FPDM even upgraded can burn up when trying to run the load of two GT pumps. Upgrading to two FPDM's will help keep the load down with it balanced between the two. Makes things easier later on also when upgrading the fuel system.
__________________
1994 Black on Black SVT Coupe
2004 SVT Cobra Competition Orange - SOLD
1979 Ghia Coupe - SOLD

1994 Chevy S-10 - DailyDriver
InfamousSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 10:41 PM   #6
blk04cobra1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by puzzle13
FPDM? Upgrade to duels? A little help Tory? I just switched the pumps using the stock hose in the tank with some hose clamps, switched the fuel control module to an upgraded one, and that is it.
Infamous explained it pretty well...Mike, the power you are running should not require the dual FPDM upgrade, but if you start running your pumps a little more, then you may want to think about upgrading. The people I have seen who have upgraded are well over 600rwhp and only did it as a precaution.
__________________
2004 Cobra
HP Twin 67's
785rwhp on 9lbs of boost
blk04cobra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 03:41 AM   #7
blueblazes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 277
Send a message via MSN to blueblazes
dual gt's are a great upgrade. You can get a pair for about 140 bucks shipped. Only downside is that you MUST upgrade your fpdm to either an upgraded one or to duals. I made my own dual fpdm harness for mine and cobra4me car. We are both making right at 600 to the ground <mustang dyno #'s> and the pumps arent maxed yet. I also have a fore precision works hat which helped drop duty cycle on the pumps. Any good tuner will be datalogging your duty cycle on your pumps as well as maf voltage and other things. That will be the true test of what your pumps are able to handle. I know cobra4me on stock pumps put down right at 500 on the same dyno and pumps were done without some sort of upgrade. They were at 100% duty cycle, he couldve done bap or gt's but he decided to do gt's.
blueblazes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2017 SCMC, Inc