SCMC Message Forum  
Go Back   SCMC Message Forum > SVT Platforms > 96 - 01 SVT Cobra Forum
User Name
Password

Register FAQ Members List SCMC Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-21-2008, 11:17 PM   #1
SVTCOBRATKD
Registered User
 
SVTCOBRATKD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 20
96 Cobra w/84K miles w/P1132 CEL Help!!

I drive the cobra very little.
I took it out for a drive this past weekend and it thru a P1132 (Autozone).
Mis-fire on the number 1 bank.
I replaced the spark plugs on the pass. side, reset the light and put about 30 miles on the car before the light came back on.

I've reset the light again and am putting some more miles on it to see if it's just a fluke. 10 miles and no light.
Symptons: None, car drives very strong. Does not skip. Does not spark knock. Have always used 93 octane BP gas.
Mods: K&N filter

History of CEL
1. 3 years or so I bogged it in 4th gear and the CEL came on. I reset it and it never came on again.

2. 1 year ago thru a similiar code. I replaced all vacuum lines, reset the CEL and passed inspection fine.

Back to today:
Now, in the 30 miles after I reset the light. And, the light did come on.

Any ideas??

Thanks!
Richard
SVTCOBRATKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 10:10 AM   #2
blk04cobra1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,374
mis-fire could be the plug wires or the coil pack...
__________________
2004 Cobra
HP Twin 67's
785rwhp on 9lbs of boost
blk04cobra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 10:33 AM   #3
SVTCOBRATKD
Registered User
 
SVTCOBRATKD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by blk04cobra1
mis-fire could be the plug wires or the coil pack...
The wires were replaced around 60K with OEM.
I was also wondering about the coil pack.
If it were bad, would it not be mis-firing consistantly??
I don't notice any mis-fire. Plus, the light stayed off for over 30 miles.
I know when my pathfinder had a bad 02 the light came on as soon as I started the car after reseting the light.
Guess I should start pricing coil packs just in case.

Thanks!!!
SVTCOBRATKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 12:06 PM   #4
pacificgreensvt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ROYALOAK MI
Posts: 18
it could be a vacume leak,plug wires,oil over fill,exhaust leaks.pvc system.
__________________
v1 s/trim, GT/impeller,longtubes,4:30's.424hp/412tq,race fuel & street tune by Alternative.
pacificgreensvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 01:41 AM   #5
SVTCOBRATKD
Registered User
 
SVTCOBRATKD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 20
yeah, unfortunately, it can be several things...

I have replaced the vaccum lines, plugs on the pass. side.
I checked the oil and it was 1/4 qrt low, so I added.
Dont think it's the coil pack since I went 30 miles before the light came back on after reseting it.
So, I think I'll pay Ford the $89 to run the diagnostics on it.
But, I have to wait again for the light to come back on since I reset it again the other night....I REALLY hate taking it to the dealer!!!!
__________________
SVTCOBRATKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 07:14 PM   #6
SVTCOBRATKD
Registered User
 
SVTCOBRATKD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 20
Question

Update:

Drove the car 52 miles before the light came on.
Stopped by the inspection station where I always go.
They said that they can do the same diagnostics as Ford.
They put it on their machine, but could only see that the light was on...
So, they pulled out the hand held one and immediately said it was the bank 1 O2

Decided to go to Ford anyway. They confirmed that it was the forward bank 1 O2 sensor. They ordered it and I picked it up at 4PM.

I took the one out of my cobra.
It APPEARED that the tabs on the side of the connection housing had been filed down.....
It WOULD NOT have fit into the housing because they were at 3 Oclock and 8 Oclock and the female housing was at 9 Oclock and 4 Oclock...
It is a Stock FORD O2 sensor.
So, the one they gave me HAD the tabs and they were also at the wrong places just like my original one is/was.
HOWEVER, it was too long and the FORD number ended in AA instead of BA (or vice versa).

They are supposed to get me the right on by tomorrow AM.

My question is: are you supposed to file these tabs down??
Wondering if the one they get for me will have to be modified.
Not hard to do, just seems very weird....
__________________
SVTCOBRATKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 10:25 AM   #7
blk04cobra1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,374
If the tabs were filed down, it would lead me to believe someone had some long tube headers on your car before...when you add the O2 extensions, you have to file down the tabs so they will fit into the new connector
__________________
2004 Cobra
HP Twin 67's
785rwhp on 9lbs of boost
blk04cobra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 02:10 PM   #8
SVTCOBRATKD
Registered User
 
SVTCOBRATKD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 20
^ Good to know! Thanks!!

No long tube headers. I know the original owner.
I did pick up the 2nd O2 sensor and it fit fine!!
Now, have to put some mileage on her before inspection time.
__________________
SVTCOBRATKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 09:04 AM   #9
SVTCOBRATKD
Registered User
 
SVTCOBRATKD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 20
Just an update.
Went 100 miles and had it inspected!
Drives really smooth now!!! (didn't really think it was driving ruff before, but..)
__________________
SVTCOBRATKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2017 SCMC, Inc